Portrait crédit photo V.Cassigneul
Mains geste crédit photo V.Cassigneul

It takes guts. It's the prison for something wrong.

Then, it's the unconscious and obsessive idea to say it, to express this gnawing emotion. It is a laborious job of research, observations, expectations and patience. The line is the materialization of this hidden and sacred word, buried in me. The line is my release, it is the word I would not say it allows me to express myself, it is my legitimacy and my guide toward understanding existence.

 

Painting is not a passion, it is a state of emergency and survival, it is an emotional balance.

Thus, I naturally oriented my creation towards the portrait and the human figure. Even outside of my work, I need to read and feed myself through other influences and feel what emerges emotionally, I seek the expressiveness of the line, the look, the posture and the word which comes as close as possible to humans and their abysses.

 

So I paint my fears, my sufferings but also those that I see and perceive in others, their faces, their postures, their atmospheres.

 

 

I am hurt, every day, to observe the horror of a contemporary society in which I live. I do not understand it, its conformism, or its immobility and I do not recognize myself in it. And yet I have to live with it, adapt, so I cry in silence and I paint.

This cry is my unconscious and sacred word. It is a cry of helplessness, it is a cry that is recognized in abandonment and exile, in the loss of love and broken bonds. He is cold, silent and cruel, he tells about the emptiness of the loved one and the loss of identity.

 

It's a call. This cry is also my rebirth, my hope, my strength, my resilience. I look for truths like so many faces and identities that I miss in a society without ties. "

When I will live. The closer I get to the end, the closer I get to life. It is at the end that one lives by embracing one's entire existence. It is by approaching our own death that we recognize the importance of life.

(April 6, 2022)

_20180916_172349.JPG

I have been working for several years on the human figure, staged, with a certain theatricality. Although acrylic and charcoal are my favorite mediums, I like to experiment on other supports or allow myself to work with materials like scotch, adhesive tape, medical gauze if that feeds and serves my purpose. at the best.

For a few years, I have made the choice of pictorial orientations which highlight the notions of loss, absence, death and their opposites, namely, presence, life, existence. Luck and chance came later in my thinking. More and more I force the deeper expression of the emotional through the body, trying to express all the emotional charge of being. Also, my work has been oriented more towards the outside, towards a global, general, universal idea which calls on everyone to take a position on these questions which in my opinion are fundamental.

 

The Corpus Series was a starting point for this form of thinking without my real awareness of the change. It was the gaze of the other that helped me.

At the time of designing this series, I had no idea that it could live beyond my immediate surroundings. However, at that time I was too focused on my own loss of the paternal image and it was quite difficult for me to imagine that others could live the same experience with the same intensity. And yet, this is exactly what is happening, we all experience the same things, experience the same social cataclysms, it is The existence of being.

I am not a fatalist. I'm only saying that our lives are alike and that our births, our lives, our deaths impact our sensitivity in the same way. Between these notions, there is the relation of cause and effect, luck, chance, God, or any other element of belief. The events, even experiences lived differently and specific to each, nevertheless remain similar in their universality, each has at home the same photos of birth, marriage, the same collections of memories, even in collective events experienced individually. , collective memory allows each individual to identify and feel as part of a whole. It is the idea that the individual event is experienced by a collective bond. The intimate is a lever with an intention to bind to something larger, community speaking.

The evolution of my approach was not without difficulty because exploring something other than what we are used to is also giving up a part of oneself, a bygone time. Little by little, the erasure of a starting figuration has given way to a freedom of gesture and expressionism of the line. The erasure somehow creates presence.

Reinforcing this pictorial gesture is a freedom that I allow myself.

 

Yes, my work is oriented towards disappearance, the fact that everything has a limited lifespan. It is not only the idea of ​​death, it is also the notion of absence, of lack. Lack fills the vacant place created by absence. It is also to evoke presence through absence.

In my paintings, I work by removal or erasure, there are sometimes several starting elements which as they advance are found in non-being.

Non-being is what I call this pictorial form necessary in a given time but which cannot go as far as finalization. We could speak of sketches, but I find that it is still different, it is an element of the painting in its own right, a constituent of the framework which allowed the final elaboration. There is also this notion of necessary, indispensable disappearance, a sedimentation. I sometimes repaint a canvas. There is a form of immediacy of the gesture that I claim. Error, clumsiness, failure are part of sedimentation. They are imprints or traces, an accumulation. I only keep what surprises me, destabilizes me, gives me food for thought.

The removal also highlights the remaining material. Here what remains is the essential that I am showing. I add very little, I don't like the superfluous or the too much that suffocates and kills.

I cut the material to keep only a correct outline of the image, to show the little to reveal all its power.

Disappearance is a notion that questions me a lot. What is it that causes presence to live only through its absence? What makes us realize our attachment to a being through the void it creates? Desire something that you have more or never had. The question of death is that too. You die, you are no more, and yet there is this magnificent thing that you can relive by the intention and the memory of the other. Creation is also that. The void denounces the full.

What characterizes my work is being able to create an emotion and that people can identify a link with their intimate. Working on universality means confronting your gaze with that of others on notions that everyone can experience. It is also creating links, it is reviving.

I put everything there. I put there my fears, my doubts, my faults, my repentances, my disappointments, my excuses, my cowardices, my responsibilities, my incapacities and my consequences, my losses, my ignominies, my remorse and my forgiveness, my gains and my capacities, I put everything I feel and deny, everything I see and forget.

I am an animal.

(about the series “A l'épreuve de nos corps” April 20, 2022)

IMG_20220613_170620.jpg

Workshop contemporary painter Delphine Alliens sur Blagnac Occitanie expressionism

Portrait crédit photo V.Cassigneul
Mains geste crédit photo V.Cassigneul

Ça prend aux tripes. C'est la prison de quelque chose qui ne va pas.

Puis, c'est l'idée inconsciente et obsessionnelle de le dire, d'exprimer cette émotion qui ronge. C'est un travail laborieux de recherches, d'observations, d'attentes et de patience. Le trait est la matérialisation de cette parole cachée et sacrée, enterrée en moi. Le trait est ma libération, il est le mot que je ne prononce pas, il m'autorise à m'exprimer, il est ma légitimité et mon guide vers une compréhension de l'existence.

 

Peindre n'est pas une passion, c'est un état d'urgence et de survie, c'est un équilibre émotionnel.

Ainsi, j'ai naturellement orienté ma création vers le portrait et la figure humaine. Même en dehors de mes travaux, j'ai besoin de lire et de me nourrir au travers d'autres influences et sentir ce qui s'en dégage émotionnellement, je cherche l’expressivité du trait, du regard, de la posture et du mot qui se rapproche au plus prés de l'humain et de ses abîmes.

 

Alors je peins mes peurs, mes souffrances mais aussi celles que je vois et perçois chez les autres, leurs visages, leurs postures, leurs atmosphères.

 

 

Je suis blessée, tous les jours, d'observer l'horreur d'une société contemporaine dans laquelle je vis. Je ne la comprend pas, ni son conformisme, ni son immobilisme et je ne m'y reconnaît pas. Et pourtant je dois vivre avec elle, m'adapter, alors je cris en silence et je peins.

Ce cri est ma parole inconsciente et sacrée. C'est un cri d'impuissance, c'est un cri qui se reconnaît dans l'abandon et l'exil, dans la perte d'un amour et les liens brisés. Il est froid, silencieux et cruel, il raconte le vide de l'être aimé et la perte de l'identité.

 

C'est un appel. Ce cri, c'est aussi ma renaissance, mon espoir, ma force, ma résilience. Je cherche des vérités comme autant de visages et d'identités qui me manquent dans une société dépourvue de liens. "

Quand je vivrai. Plus je m'avance vers la fin, plus je m'approche de la vie. C'est à la fin que l'on vit par l'embrassement de toute son existence. C'est en s'approchant de notre propre mort que l'on reconnaît à la vie son importance.

(6 avril 2022)

_20180916_172349.JPG

Nos existences  se ressemblent ainsi que nos naissances, nos vies, nos morts. Nous expérimentons ces  impacts  par le prisme de notre sensibilité. Entre ces notions, il y a la relation de cause à effet, la chance, le hasard, Dieu, ou tout autre élément de croyance sociale que chacun veut porter avec lui. Les événements, les expériences même vécus différemment et propres à chacun, n’en restent pas moins semblables dans leur universalité, chacun a chez soi les mêmes photos de naissance, de mariage, les mêmes collectes de souvenirs, même dans des événements collectifs vécus individuellement, la mémoire collective permet à chaque individu de s’identifier et de se sentir comme faisant partie d’un tout. C’est l’idée que l’événement intime est vécu par un lien collectif. L’intime est un levier à une intention de se lier à quelque chose de plus large, communautairement parlant.

L'évolution de ma démarche ne s’est pas faite sans difficulté car explorer autre chose que ce à quoi on est habitué, c’est aussi renoncer à une partie de soi , un temps révolu. Peu à peu l’effacement d'une figuration de départ a laissé place à une liberté du geste et à l’expressionnisme du trait. L’effacement crée en quelque sorte la présence.

Renforcer ce geste pictural est une liberté que je m’autorise. 

 

Oui, mon travail est  orienté vers la disparition, le fait que tout a une durée de vie limité. Ce n'est pas seulement l’idée de la mort, c'est aussi la notion d'absence, de manque. Le manque rempli la place vacante créée par l’absence. C’est aussi évoquer la présence par l’absence.

Dans mes peintures, je travaille par enlèvement ou effacement, il y a parfois plusieurs éléments de départ qui au fur et à mesure de l’avancement se retrouve dans le non être.

Le non être, c’est ce que j’appelle cette forme picturale nécessaire en un temps donné mais qui ne saurait aller jusqu’à la finalisation. On pourrait parler d’ébauches, même d'erreurs, de repentirs, mais je trouve que c’est encore différent, c’est un élément du tableau à part entière, un constituant de la trame qui a permis l’élaboration finale. Il y a encore cette notion de disparition nécessaire, indispensable, une sédimentation. Il m'arrive de repeindre une toile. Il y a une forme d’immédiateté du geste que je revendique. L’erreur, la maladresse, le raté font partie de la sédimentation. Ce sont des empreintes ou des traces, une accumulation.  Je ne garde que ce qui me surprend, me déstabilise, me donne à penser.

L’enlèvement met aussi en lumière la matière restante. Ici ce qui reste est l’essentiel que je donne à voir. Je n’aime pas le superflu ou le trop qui étouffe et tue.

Je taille la matière pour ne garder qu’un contour juste de l’image, donner à voir le peu pour en dévoiler toute sa puissance.

 

La disparition est une notion qui m’interroge beaucoup. Qu’est ce qui fait que la présence ne vit que par son absence ? Qu’est ce qui fait qu’on réalise son attachement à un être par le vide qu’il crée ? Désirer quelque chose que l’on a plus ou jamais eu. La question de la mort c’est cela aussi. Tu meurs, tu n’es plus, et pourtant il y a cette chose magnifique que tu peux revivre par l’intention et la mémoire de l’autre. La création c’est aussi cela. Le vide dénonce le plein.

 Ce qui caractérise mon travail c’est de pouvoir créer une émotion et que les gens puissent identifier un lien avec leur intime. Travailler sur l’universalité, c’est confronter son regard à celui des autres sur des notions que tout un chacun peut expérimenter. C’est créer des liens aussi, c’est faire revivre.

                     

                                                                                                                                                                                                                           (Octobre 2020)

J'y mets tout. J'y mets mes peurs, mes doutes, mes fautes, mes repentirs, mes déceptions, mes excuses, mes lâchetés, mes responsabilités, mes incapacités et mes conséquences, mes pertes, mes ignominies, mes remords et mes pardons, mes gains et mes capacités, j'y mets tout ce que je sens et que je nie, tout ce que je vois et que j'oublie.

Je suis un animal.

( à propos de la série " A l'épreuve de nos corps" 20 avril 2022)

Atelier artiste peintre contemporain Delphine Alliens sur Blagnac Occitanie expressionnisme