Corpus. Work on the body, the imprint of time, of disease on this body. How a body transforms, supports and carries within itself the resilience of its wounds.

Charcoal and surgical gauze on cardboard, cutter notches

60/80 cm

Series of 7 carried out over 7 to 8 months

This work tells the story of my father, then suffering from a long illness. But beyond that, it tells the story of everyone facing the disease and how each person, man, woman, child acts and reacts in the face of the situation, the suffering and the absence.

 

It is also the story of the family ties that we keep within ourselves, even after death. Corpus are the memory, the memories of deceased beings, hence the choice of the black line which replaces the form. It is a deconstructed line that lacks substance, like a departing body, but it is also a line tragically impregnated in the paper like the painful memory and the traces left in our memories of the living.

The Corpus is an ambivalence. It is to speak of the living through the prism of a dying body. It is telling the story of those who remain.

What characterizes my work is being able to create an emotion and that people can identify a link with their intimate. Working on universality means confronting your gaze with that of others on notions that everyone can experience. It is also creating links, it is reviving.

In addition to this, you need to know more about it.

Beyond my personal experience, I wanted to sublimate the body and its sufferings, I wanted to highlight the idea of ​​dying with dignity and all the questions that this puts forward, namely, the legalization of euthanasia. The confrontation with my own personal experience pushed me to apprehend a topic which divides the minds less and less today and which opens the question of being able to choose its end of life with dignity and the possibilities implemented to achieve it.

In France, in 2021, the question of a dignified end of life is addressed by a response that is still unsatisfactory and the response of which is “active medical assistance in dying” for people who are seriously ill and at the end of their life. What about helping families with psychological and emotional pain?

 

It is a societal question. It is a universal question. It is more than ever a current question.

 

Today, with the health crisis, and the destitution in the face of the suffering endured, the notion of “care” is brought forward. It is essential to put words and images on what is still a taboo subject today. Death and the possibility of dying with dignity and without suffering is a constant in human existence. Death and the possibility of dying with dignity must be considered and demystified. It is a human right that can allow us to free ourselves from our fears in the face of suffering.

Death must be differentiated from the fear of dying in the sense that in the first, which is a state of affairs, there is no notion of suffering. On the other hand, the notion of suffering is inscribed in the words and images linked to the fear of dying. It is a physical suffering but also psychological for some by the fear of not being any more.

 

Through my experience of change of status, I became caregiver of the suffering, I took the place of the one who carries and protects against the diminished father, by the reversal of roles and in the face of my psychological deprivation in the face of the emptiness that was emerging, my answer graphic was to create these bodies to bring the mind to acceptance of an inconceivable reality.

The idea of ​​believing in life is also the idea of ​​believing in a dignified and human death.

Workshop contemporary painter Delphine Alliens sur Blagnac Occitanie expressionism

Corpus. Travail sur le corps,l'empreinte du temps, de la maladie sur ce corps. Comment un corps se transforme, supporte et porte en lui la résilience de ses blessures.

Fusain et gaze chirurgicale sur carton, entailles cutter

60/80 cm

Série de 7 réalisée sur 7 à 8 mois

Cette œuvre raconte l'histoire de mon père, alors atteint d'une longue maladie. Mais au-delà de cela, elle raconte l'histoire de tous face à la maladie et comment chaque personne, homme, femme, enfant agit et réagit face à la situation, la souffrance et l'absence.

 

C'est aussi l'histoire des liens familiaux que l'on garde en soi, même au-delà de la mort. Les Corpus sont la mémoire, les souvenirs des êtres disparus, d'où le choix du trait noir qui se substitue à la forme. C'est un trait déconstruit et qui manque de substance, comme un corps qui s'en va, mais c’est aussi un trait tragiquement imprégné dans le papier comme le souvenir douloureux et les traces laissées dans nos mémoires de vivants.

Les Corpus c'est une ambivalence. C'est parler du vivant par le prisme d’un corps qui meurt. C’est raconter l’histoire de ceux qui restent.

Ce qui caractérise mon travail c’est de pouvoir créer une émotion et que les gens puissent identifier un lien avec leur intime. Travailler sur l’universalité, c’est confronter son regard à celui des autres sur des notions que tout un chacun peut expérimenter. C’est créer des liens aussi, c’est faire revivre.

Au-delà de mon expérience personnelle, j’ai voulu sublimer le corps et ses souffrances, j’ai voulu mettre en lumière l’idée de mourir dans la dignité et toutes les questions que cela met en avant, à savoir, la légalisation de l’euthanasie. La confrontation avec ma propre expérience personnelle m’a poussé à appréhender un thème qui divise aujourd’hui de moins en moins les esprits et qui ouvre la question de pouvoir choisir sa fin de vie dignement et les possibilités mis en œuvre pour y parvenir.

En France, en 2021, la question d’une fin de vie digne est abordé par une réponse encore insatisfaisante et dont la réponse est une « aide médicalisée active à mourir » pour les personnes gravement malades et en fin de vie. Qu’en est –il de l’aide apportée aux familles en souffrance psychologique et émotionnelle?

 

C’est une question sociétale. C’est une question universelle. C’est plus que jamais une question actuelle.

 

Aujourd’hui, avec la crise sanitaire, et le dénuement face aux souffrances endurées, la notion du « care » est portée en avant. Il est essentiel de poser des mots et des images sur ce qui est encore aujourd’hui un sujet tabou. La mort et la possibilité de mourir en dignité  et sans souffrance est une constante de l’existence humaine. La mort et la possibilité de mourir en dignité doit être considérée et démystifiée. C’est un droit humain qui peut nous permettre de nous émanciper de nos peurs face à la souffrance.

La mort doit être différenciée de la peur de mourir en ce sens que dans le premier qui est un état de fait, il n’y a pas de notion de souffrance. Par contre la notion de souffrance est inscrite dans les mots et les images liés à la peur de mourir. C’est une souffrance physique mais aussi psychologique pour certain par la peur de ne plus être.

 

Par mon expérience de changement de statut, je devenais soignante du souffrant, je prenais la place de celle qui porte et  qui protège face au père diminué, par l’inversion des rôles et face à mon dénuement psychologique face au vide qui advenait, ma réponse graphique a été de créer ces corps pour amener l'esprit à  l’acceptation d’une réalité inconcevable.

L’idée de croire en la vie, c’est aussi l’idée de croire en une mort digne et humaine.

Atelier artiste peintre contemporain Delphine Alliens sur Blagnac Occitanie expressionnisme